Best Harness for French Bulldogs

As any proud owner of a French bulldog can attest, the unique physique of the “bully” breed can make fitting harnesses, collars, and other accessories for your pet difficult. French bulldogs are susceptible to respiratory issues, and wearing just a collar while on walks or during exercise can put dangerous pressure on their trachea and neck. And your Frenchie doesn’t have to be an escape artist to easily escape from a collar which should be worn with their ID and tags around the house and yard, but outside the home and on walks it’s critical to use a comfortable, well-fitting harness.

Best Harness for French Bulldogs

Blueberry Pet Classic Solid Color Adjustable Dog Harness
Blueberry Pet Classic Solid Color Adjustable Dog Harness
$14
on amazon
4/10
  • What we Like
  • Wide variety of colors
  • Heavy duty D-rings (2 for added strength)
  • Fastens in back
  • What we Dislike
  • Sits low across the chest
  • Plastic adjustment tabs easily slide, loosening fit
  • Single ply
  • Not reinforced
Product Details
Harness Type Back-clip
Material Nylon Webbing
Leash Attachment Points 1 point
2 D-Rings on back
Size small (16.50-21.5 chest girth)
medium (20-26 chest girth)
large (26-29 chest girth)
Colors 19
Our Review

While this comes in pretty colors, and fastens in the back, it is not constructed for durability. Single ply webbing can easily come loose because the plastic hardware used to adjust and keep it secure and tight on the dog could easily slip out of place loosening harness and allowing the dog to escape. Adjustment buckles rest in dog’s armpit

Ondoing Vest Harness Soft Reflective No Pull
Ondoing Vest Harness Soft Reflective No Pull
$0
on amazon
6/10
  • What we Like
  • Double nylon webbing
  • Handle for easy control of your pet
  • Reflective band
  • Padded construction
  • Chest strap is adjustable
  • What we Dislike
  • Not a true no-pull harness
  • Bulky plastic fastener for the strap behind front leg is directly behind the joint and does NOT look comfortable
Product Details
HARNESS TYPE Back-clip
MATERIAL Nylon webbing
mesh
woven fabric
plastic
LEASH ATTACHMENT POINTS / LOCATION 1 point
1 metal D-ring on back
SIZE (CHEST GIRTH) small (16-17.5)
medium (17.3-21)
large (22-27.5)
X-large (28.3-32)
COLOR CHOICES 1
Our Review

While we love the handle, this harness looks like a torture device. The bulky plastic buckle behind the dogs leg could possibly dig into the joint and chafe. The listing describes this harness as being made of oxford cloth however it appears to be constructed out of nylon webbing and nylon fabric. This harness would have the same weak point as the Blueberry harness in that it relies on plastic sliders on one ply aluminum straps to secure the harness. Vigorous exercise or straining or pulling by the dog could easily loosen the harness and be unsafe.

Kurgo Tru-Fit No Pull Dog Harness with Pet Seatbelt Tether for Car
Kurgo Tru-Fit No Pull Dog Harness with Pet Seatbelt Tether for Car
$29
on amazon
8/10
  • What we Like
  • Ideal for broad-chested breeds
  • Five adjustment points
  • Seatbelt tether and carabiner included
  • Dual leash attachment sites
  • Machine washable
  • Double ply nylon webbing
  • What we Dislike
  • Plastic connectors everywhere with no padding beneath to protect the dog
  • Plastic adjustment sliders can loosen
Product Details
HARNESS TYPE Dual Clip
MATERIAL Nylon webbing
water-resistant ripstop fabric
plastic
LEASH ATTACHMENT POINTS / LOCATION 2
at chest and on back
SIZE (CHEST GIRTH) x-small (12-18)
small (16-22)
medium (18-28))
large (24-34)
X-large (28-44)
COLOR CHOICES 1
Our Review

We love that the D-ring on the back of this harness is connected to the portion of the harness that wraps around the dog’s waist reducing the amount of strain that would be put around the dog’s neck if the leash was tugged from this connection. This is well built, however, the plastic adjustment points can still potentially be in uncomfortable locations if the harness was completely tightened up for a more slender dog. This is a versatile harness allowing you to tether your dog safely in the car using the front D-ring and still keeping relation attached to the ring on the back.

RuffWear - Front Range No-Pull Dog Harness with Front Clip
RuffWear - Front Range No-Pull Dog Harness with Front Clip
$40
on amazon
8/10
  • What we Like
  • Ideal for broad-chested breeds
  • Four adjustment points
  • Padded construction
  • Easy to put on
  • Double ply nylon webbing
  • All plastic connectors sit on top of padding for dog’s comfort
  • What we Dislike
  • Unlike the back leash attachment ring, front ring is not made of metal it is a rubber loop secured with nylon webbing which can fray
  • Rear leash ring is secured with one-ply strap affixed with only two rows of stitches can come loose
Product Details
HARNESS TYPE Dual Clip
MATERIAL Mesh
Nylon webbing
Rip-stop fabric
plastic
LEASH ATTACHMENT POINTS / LOCATION 2
loop on chest
metal D-ring on back
SIZE (CHEST GIRTH) xx-small (13-17)
x-small (17-22)
small (22-27)
medium (27-32)
large (32-42)
COLOR CHOICES 6
Our Review

Overall this is an extremely well-made harness with great materials and a versatile design clearly meant to make it more comfortable for the dog to wear. Unfortunately, it seems to be better suited for larger dogs as on smaller dogs the side buckles can end up in their armpits behind their front legs and rub and chafe. The weak point in this harness is the rear leash ring which is a metal ring affixed with ace drop of one ply nylon webbing attached to the harness with only two rows of stitching this could easily fray and eventually come loose especially if your dog pulls.

Best Overall
K9-Power Harness Julius
K9-Power Harness Julius Best Overall
$42
on amazon
10/10
  • What we Like
  • Ideal for broad-chested breeds
  • Handle on back
  • Reflective chest strap
  • Customization options
  • Smaller plastic connectors
  • Does not constrict neck/throat
  • Double ply nylon webbing
  • All plastic connectors sit on top of padding for dog’s comfort
  • Harness can bear 660 lbs of weight
  • What we Dislike
  • Chest safety strap is not padded
  • Dog can back out of the harness when safety strap is not fastened
Product Details
HARNESS TYPE Back Clip
MATERIAL Fray-resistant tactical “seatbelt” nylon webbing
ripstop fabric
steel
plastic
LEASH ATTACHMENT POINTS / LOCATION 1 D-ring on back
SIZE (CHEST GIRTH) xxx-small (11.5-14)
xx-small (13-17.5)
x-small (15.5-21)
small (20-26.5)
medium (23-30)
medium-large (26-33.5)
large (28-38)
X-large (32.5-45.5)
COLOR CHOICES 19
Our Review

The Julius canine power harness is one of the best design harnesses on the market. It is made of some of the best materials we’ve seen including straps made out of fray-proof seatbelt style nylon webbing, ripstop nylon, and nylon edging with reflective material. The metal D-ring is securely fixed in place with this webbing. When properly adjusted the plastic buckle for this harness will not chafe and end up behind the dog’s legs. This harness is designed specifically not to constrict the dog’s throat and will allow free movement. This harness is a favorite among owners of bully breeds. We were excited when we saw all of the aftermarket custom patches that can be affixed to this harness using the convenient Velcro on each side.

EcoBark Maximum Comfort Dog Harness
EcoBark Maximum Comfort Dog Harness
$13
on amazon
3/10
  • What we Like
  • Breathable materials around neck
  • No plastic connectors under armpits
  • Padded in front
  • No-choke design
  • Nylon webbing made from recycled water bottles
  • What we Dislike
  • Mesh neck opening can not be adjusted and you have to pass dog’s head through it
  • Single-ply nylon
  • Construction is not very durable, stitching is not reinforced.
  • Plastic adjustment point can slide and loosen the harness
Product Details
HARNESS TYPE Back clip
MATERIAL Nylon webbing
mesh
steel
LEASH ATTACHMENT POINTS / LOCATION 1 D-ring on back
SIZE (CHEST GIRTH) x-small (9-13)
small (12-18)
medium (14-21”)
large (19-29”)
X-large (21-32”)
XX-large (26-39”)
COLOR CHOICES 10
Our Review

While this is a very cute harness and comes in cute colors and is good for the environment it is almost entirely single ply construction. The neck opening comes fairly high on the chest for a smaller dog and is somewhat bulky. In order to put this harness on your dog you have to pass their head through the opening of the neck portion of the harness which is not adjustable. The single ply nylon webbing is not heavily reinforced and could likely fray and weaken over time. This harness seems better suited for puppies and cats.

Kurgo Tru-Fit Travel Harness
Kurgo Tru-Fit Travel Harness
$45
on amazon
7/10
  • What we Like
  • Top-rated for dog’s safety in vehicles
  • Crash tested for dogs up to 75 lbs
  • Steel buckles are stronger than plastic
  • Highly adjustable
  • Padded chest panel
  • All steel nested buckle system with 5 adjustment points
  • What we Dislike
  • Learning curve using the metal adjusters
  • Front loop is plastic and not securely stitched in place
  • Sits high up on neck
Product Details
HARNESS TYPE Dual Clip
MATERIAL Nylon webbing
mesh
ripstop fabric
steel
plastic
LEASH ATTACHMENT POINTS / LOCATION 1 chest D-ring
1 back D-ring
SIZE (CHEST GIRTH) x-small (12-18”)
small (16-22”)
medium (18-28”)
large (24-34”)
X-large (28-44”)
COLOR CHOICES 2
Our Review

While we were very impressed with the crash test rating and safety features of this harness it seems that it would be better suited to larger dogs. The hardware is definitely unique and stands out in a sea of harnesses that are fastened with plastic connectors- however it may be too bulky for a smaller breed. The chest panel also seems that it sits fairly high up and could constrict breathing in a smaller dog such as the French bulldog. Most of the Kurgo harnesses appear to have a sturdy metal leash attachment point in the back but the D-ring in the front anchored with single ply nylon webbing doesn’t appear to be very heavily reinforced.

Dogline Personalized Mesh Dog Harness
Dogline Personalized Mesh Dog Harness
$20
on amazon
2/10
  • What we Like
  • Customizable
  • No choke design
  • Breathable mesh
  • Highly adjustable
  • Lightweight and soft
  • Padded chest panel
  • What we Dislike
  • Mesh neck opening can not be adjusted and you have to pass dog’s head through it
  • Single-ply nylon
  • Construction is not very durable, stitching is not reinforced.
  • Plastic adjustment point can slide and loosen the harness
Product Details
HARNESS TYPE Back clip
MATERIAL Mesh
nylon webbing
plastic
metal
LEASH ATTACHMENT POINTS / LOCATION 1 D-ring on back
SIZE (CHEST GIRTH) small (12-16”)
medium (16-21”)
large (19-25”)
X-large (24-31”)
COLOR CHOICES 12
Our Review

This is soft mesh harness with one adjustment point and plastic buckle squarely behind the dog’s leg where it can chafe. The option to customize is nice, however we feel that you would be sacrificing quality by paying extra for this option. The neck is not adjustable and some dogs may not like having to pass their head through the opening in order to put the harness on. The single leash attachment point on the back is not securely stitched in, secured with single ply nylon and two rows of stitches. This could be a nice soft harness for your dog to wear in situations where safety is not your number one concern.

Best Budget
GoPets No Pull Harness
GoPets No Pull Harness Best Budget
$0
on amazon
6/10
  • What we Like
  • Single-ply nylon webbing
  • Rubber square ring to prevent adjustment buckles from loosening
  • Reflective material on straps
  • Both leash attachment points are metal
  • Compression strap
  • Ideal for broad-shouldered dogs
  • What we Dislike
  • Single-ply nylon
  • Construction is not very durable, stitching is not reinforced.
  • Plastic adjustment buckle behind dog’s leg
Product Details
HARNESS TYPE Dual clip
MATERIAL Nylon webbing
steel
plastic
LEASH ATTACHMENT POINTS / LOCATION 1 metal O-ring at chest
1 D-ring on back
SIZE (CHEST GIRTH) medium (22-28”)
large (27”-33”)
XL (33-46”)
COLOR CHOICES 1
Our Review

This is a functional basic single ply nylon strap harness with reflective with reflective paint on it. It seems to suffer from the same structural issues that other single ply nylon harnesses have with weak stitching that can fray and eventually give way. For a dog that tugs a lot this may not be a good option. It also has another common design flaw in that the plastic adjustment buckle is behind the dog’s leg where it can chafe and is not very comfortable. We do like that the leash attachment point in the front and the back is metal.

Roughtail Dog Harness
Roughtail Dog Harness
$0
on amazon
5/10
  • What we Like
  • Handle on the back with two layers of nylon webbing.
  • Single-ply nylon straps
  • Padded back
  • Reflective stitching
  • What we Dislike
  • Predominant single-ply nylon construction
  • Does not look very durable, stitching can weaken or give way.
  • Plastic adjustment buckle behind dog’s leg, straps can loosen
Product Details
HARNESS TYPE Back clip
MATERIAL Nylon webbing
fabric
plastic
metal
LEASH ATTACHMENT POINTS / LOCATION 1 D-ring on back
SIZE (CHEST GIRTH)

provided)
COLOR CHOICES 1
Our Review

At first glance this harness appears to be a comfort harness however the plastic adjustment buckles are not padded and it seems strange that all the padding in this design doesn’t seem to shield the dog from any of the hardware. However, it is carefully stitched so that there are no raw edges of the nylon strap against the dog’s skin. The plastic buckles around the neck and the adjuster means look as though they might chafe and constrict the throat. The location of the plastic buckles does not look comfortable, particularly for a French bulldog.

OnDoing No Pull Dog Harness
OnDoing No Pull Dog Harness
$0
on amazon
6/10
  • What we Like
  • Handle on the back with two layers of nylon webbing.
  • Padded chest plate
  • Metal leash attachment point on back
  • Plastic buckles are not positioned behind the dog’s leg
  • What we Dislike
  • Weak buckles and straps that loosen
  • Does not look very durable
  • Too many buckles, excess webbing material
  • Chest panel is stiff and bulky
  • Sizing inconsistencies
  • Not suitable for dogs that pull
Product Details
HARNESS TYPE Back clip
MATERIAL Nylon webbing
nylon fabric
plastic
metal
LEASH ATTACHMENT POINTS / LOCATION One D-ring on back
SIZE (CHEST GIRTH) small (14.9-18.5”)
medium (18.1-23.7”)
large (22.5-27.6”)
X-large (29.2-39”)
COLOR CHOICES 16
Our Review

This harness has a few strong points. We are pleased to see that the plastic buckles are not positioned behind the dog’s leg digging into his armpit,  but four buckles seems excessive and bulky. The buckles are weak and slip under sustained pulling or tugging. This does not appear to be securely stitched together and there are weak points that may fray and eventually give way.

PetSafe Easy Walk Harness
PetSafe Easy Walk Harness
$0
on chewy
4/10
  • What we Like
  • Streamlined and not bulky
  • Four adjustment points
  • Metal leash attachment point not plastic
  • Plastic buckles are not positioned behind the dog’s leg
  • What we Dislike
  • Sits in dog’s armpits
  • Difficult to adjust, adjustments slide
  • Not suitable for dogs lower to the ground
  • Front orientation of leash ring frequently has leash catching on dog’s front legs
Product Details
HARNESS TYPE Front Clip
MATERIAL Nylon webbing
metal
LEASH ATTACHMENT POINTS / LOCATION 1 D-ring at chest
SIZE (CHEST GIRTH) petite (6-7”)
x-small (8-9”)
small (8.5-11”)
small/medium (11-13”)
medium (12-15”)
medium/large (14-18”)
large (16-21”)
X-large (17.5-23.5”)
COLOR CHOICES 7
Our Review

This harness is commonly found in big-box pet stores as well as online. It features single ply nylon straps that aren’t very securely stitched. This harness could easily come apart if tugged on hard enough. Because of the front orientation of the leash attachment we do not feel that it is suitable for your French bulldog.

Best Soft Harness
Puppia Authentic RiteFit Harness with Adjustable Neck
Puppia Authentic RiteFit Harness with Adjustable Neck Best Soft Harness
$0
on chewy
6/10
  • What we Like
  • Breathable mesh
  • 3 attachment points
  • Double-ply nylon webbing
  • Soft harness with an adjustable neck
  • Plastic buckles are padded so they do not rub on dog’s skin
  • Does not slide on over dog’s head
  • What we Dislike
  • Neck loop can be bulky with overlapping padded components
  • Difficult to adjust, adjustments slide
  • Inaccurate sizing
  • Back strap is short and will cut in behind dog’s legs
Product Details
HARNESS TYPE Back clip
MATERIAL Nylon webbing
mesh
plastic
metal
LEASH ATTACHMENT POINTS / LOCATION 2 D-rings on back
SIZE (CHEST GIRTH) small (12-18”)
medium (16-22”)
large (20-29”)
X-large (22-32”)
COLOR CHOICES 6
Our Review

We like this harness because it has all the advantages of a soft breathable mesh harness with an adjustable neck. Many similar harnesses constructed like this do not offer adjustable neck making easy for some dogs to back out of it. This is also beneficial for dogs that do not like to put their heads through a harness in order to get it on. This also appears to be a harness that will not be easy for a dog to back out of.

PetBuckle Pet Seat Belt Harness for Pets
PetBuckle Pet Seat Belt Harness for Pets
$0
on amazon
2/10
  • What we Like
  • Streamlined and not bulky
  • Metal adjustment hardware
  • Two adjustment points
  • Can be used with Petbuckle Tether (not included)
  • What we Dislike
  • Failed Center for Pet Safety report
  • Two sizes only
  • Not comfortable for long wear
  • Use in the car only
Product Details
HARNESS TYPE Back clip
MATERIAL Nylon webbing
plastic
metal
LEASH ATTACHMENT POINTS / LOCATION 1 D-ring on back
SIZE (CHEST GIRTH) small (dogs 20lbs or less)
standard (dogs over 20lbs)
COLOR CHOICES 1
Our Review

This harness uses the “latch bar” system buckles that are found on baby seats and minimal stitching to hold everything in place. The nylon webbing does not appear to be “automotive grade.”

We found the videos of this product being tested and were not impressed.

https://vimeo.com/102767633

https://vimeo.com/102767872

Embark Active Dog Harness
Embark Active Dog Harness
$30
on amazon
9/10
  • What we Like
  • Buckles are positioned above padding so they are not in direct contact with dog’s skin
  • Quadruple reinforced metal leash attachment points
  • Both chest/neck and girth straps are fully adjustable
  • Ripstop nylon and military grade nylon thread construction
  • 4 adjustment points
  • Handle on back
  • What we Dislike
  • Dogs can back out of it
  • Thin webbing
Product Details
HARNESS TYPE Dual clip
MATERIAL Nylon webbing
padding
mesh
ripstop nylon
plastic
metal
LEASH ATTACHMENT POINTS / LOCATION 1 D-ring on back
1 D-ring on chest plate
SIZE (CHEST GIRTH) x-small ( 13-15”)
small (16-23”)
medium (24-30”)
large (31-37”)
X-large (38-45”)
COLOR CHOICES 3
Our Review

We like this harness because of its outstanding construction, higher quality materials, double webbing, higher quality elastic buckles, and features for comfort. The harnesses that pad where the plastic buckles since are far more comfortable for dogs. This sits low on a dog’s chest and will not constrict breathing.

URPOWER Dog Leash Harness
URPOWER Dog Leash Harness
$0
on amazon
6/10
  • What we Like
  • Easy to put on with one plastic buckle
  • Two adjustment points
  • Includes matching leash
  • Streamlined and not bulky
  • Fewer pieces of hardware to chafe against dog’s skin
  • Stylish design and color
  • What we Dislike
  • Construction not as durable
  • Plastic buckle can slip open
  • Webbing and denim easily fray
Product Details
HARNESS TYPE Back clip
MATERIAL Denim
nylon webbing
metal
plastic
LEASH ATTACHMENT POINTS / LOCATION 2 D-rings on back
SIZE (CHEST GIRTH) small (12.6-15.5”)
medium (14.8-16.5”)
large (16.5”-28.5”)
COLOR CHOICES 1
Our Review

This is a very cute harness, it is simple and easy to adjust, but may not do well for a dog pulls a lot as this webbing and denim can come apart and disintegrate. We do like that this harness is designed for the dog’s comfort and to be streamlined.

RABBITGOO No Pull Dog Harness
RABBITGOO No Pull Dog Harness
$22
on amazon
7/10
  • What we Like
  • Easy to put on with one plastic buckle
  • Single-ply nylon strap construction
  • 4 adjustment points
  • Reflective trim
  • Buckles are positioned above padding so they are not in direct contact with dog’s skin
  • Sits low on dog’s chest/neck
  • What we Dislike
  • Plastic adjustment sliders can loosen
  • Bulky chest piece
  • Webbing and denim easily fray
  • Weak construction
  • Leash attachment points tear off
Product Details
HARNESS TYPE Dual clip
MATERIAL Nylon webbing
padding
mesh
ripstop nylon
plastic
metal
LEASH ATTACHMENT POINTS / LOCATION 1 D-ring on chest plate
1 metal D-ring on back
SIZE (CHEST GIRTH) X-small (13-17”)
small (17-22”)
medium (22-27”)
large (27-32”)
X-large (32-38”
COLOR CHOICES 3
Our Review

This harness is highly functional but the construction of it seems to be the weak point. Single ply webbing with inadequate stitching results in connection points coming off and fraying. This harness also does not appear to be suitable for smaller sizes such as French bulldogs.

Voyager All Weather No Pull Step-in Mesh Dog Harness
Voyager All Weather No Pull Step-in Mesh Dog Harness
$13
on amazon
4/10
  • What we Like
  • No adjustment points mean no
  • buckles or hardware against dog’s skin
  • Sits low on dog’s chest/neck
  • Single-ply nylon straps anchor the plastic buckle and leash attachment to the harness
  • No adjustment points
  • Breathable mesh
  • What we Dislike
  • Durability may be an issue as webbing that anchors the leash attachment is affixed
  • Dogs can back out easily
  • Stitching can fray and come loose over time
Product Details
HARNESS TYPE Back clip
MATERIAL Mesh
nylon webbing
LEASH ATTACHMENT POINTS / LOCATION 2 D-rings on back
SIZE (CHEST GIRTH) X-small (13-14.5”)
small (14.5-17”)
medium (16-18”)
large (18-21”)
X-large (21-23”)
COLOR CHOICES 15
Our Review

We like this harness because there are fewer pieces of hardware and adjustment sliders to chafe your dog’s skin. However, it does not appear to be made for durability- its design makes it easy for your dog slip out. For a dog that doesn’t pull and has a fairly low activity level, this would be an ideal harness as it is soft and more comfortable than harnesses with more adjustment points.

Chai’s Choice Front Range Dog Harness
Chai’s Choice Front Range Dog Harness
$28
on amazon
8/10
  • What we Like
  • Buckles are padded and away from dog’s skin
  • Sits low on dog’s chest/neck
  • 3M reflective material integrated into the nylon webbing and chest panel
  • Handle on the back
  • Padded design for comfort
  • What we Dislike
  • Durability may be an issue as webbing that anchors the leash attachment is affixed
  • Stitching attaching nylon webbing to harness can fray and come loose over time
Product Details
HARNESS TYPE Back clip
MATERIAL Mesh
nylon webbing
LEASH ATTACHMENT POINTS / LOCATION 2 D-rings on back
SIZE (CHEST GIRTH) X-small (13-14.5”)
small (14.5-17”)
medium (16-18”)
large (18-21”)
X-large (21-23”)
COLOR CHOICES 15
Our Review

This harness definitely has a lot of thoughtful details and safety features built into it. We like how adjustable it is and that most of the hardware is kept away from your dog’s skin under the chest plate and padding. We would like to see the stitching for the nylon webbing be little more reinforced where it attaches to the chest panel of the harness.

Puppia Soft Dog Harness
Puppia Soft Dog Harness
$13
on amazon
6/10
  • What we Like
  • Designed for comfort
  • Seven sizes
  • Soft mesh
  • Sits low on dog’s chest/neck
  • What we Dislike
  • Neck opening is not adjustable
  • Buckle rests behind dog’s leg when harness is adjusted tight
  • Leash attachment point is not well stitched
Product Details
HARNESS TYPE Back clip
MATERIAL Nylon webbing
mesh
LEASH ATTACHMENT POINTS / LOCATION 1 D-ring on back
SIZE (CHEST GIRTH) X-small (9-12.5”)
small (12-18”)
medium (16-22”)
large (20-29”)
X-large (22-32”)
XX-large (29-41”)
COLOR CHOICES 14
Our Review

We like that this harness is designed for comfort however it suffers from the same design flaw many similar harnesses do-  the plastic buckles and adjustment sliders rests directly against the dog skin and if cinched tight will chafe behind the dog’s leg in the armpit area. This harness is put onto the dog by pulling the front section over his head this may be problematic for some dogs. The harness does not appear to be constructed for durability or a dog that pulls a lot. For more sedentary dog or puppy this might be a better fit than an active dog.

EzyDog Quick Fit Custom Fit Adjustable Dog Harness
EzyDog Quick Fit Custom Fit Adjustable Dog Harness
$27
on amazon
7/10
  • What we Like
  • Great for dogs who prefer a collar
  • 2 adjustment points
  • Reflective safety stitching on nylon webbing
  • Easy to put on slipping over head
  • Sits low on dog’s chest/neck
  • What we Dislike
  • Buckle rests behind dog’s leg
  • Leash attachment point is not well stitched
  • Chest strap is adjustable with Velcro under the neoprene sleeve
  • Harness goes on over dog’s head
Product Details
HARNESS TYPE Single clip
MATERIAL Nylon webbing
neoprene padding
pastic
metal
LEASH ATTACHMENT POINTS / LOCATION Single D-ring on back
SIZE (CHEST GIRTH) XX-small (12-15”)
X-small (15-18”)
small (18-21.5”)
medium (21.5-26.5”)
large (26.5-33”)
X-large (33-42”)
COLOR CHOICES 10
Our Review

While we love all the features for this harness such as the low-profile design, the neoprene padding for comfort on the chest strap and the girth strap, we did have some concerns about safety features. The chest strap is adjusted with Velcro. The D-ring leash attachment point on the back is on a single ply strip of nylon webbing with no reinforcement. Because we want our French bulldog to be comfortable we also are concerned about the buckle resting directly behind the front leg and the dog’s armpit area.

Rogz Utility Reflective H-Harness
Rogz Utility Reflective H-Harness
$0
on amazon
6/10
  • What we Like
  • Very adjustable (5 adjustment points)
  • Plastic buckle sits higher on back than behind the leg
  • Sits low on dog’s chest/neck
  • What we Dislike
  • Sizing can be difficult for bully breeds
  • chest opening is not adjustable
  • Harness is not very strong or durable, weak stitching and design
Product Details
HARNESS TYPE Single clip
MATERIAL Double-ply nylon webbing
plastic
metal
LEASH ATTACHMENT POINTS / LOCATION 1 D-ring on back
SIZE (CHEST GIRTH) small (9-15”)
medium (15-22”)
large (24-42”)
X-large (36-40”)
COLOR CHOICES 6
Our Review

We love how many adjustment points are on this harness and that the buckle and adjustment points do not rest squarely behind the dog’s front legs. This is a pretty standard nylon webbing harness without a lot of frills. The D ring is stitched into 2-ply nylon webbing but the rest of the harness is single ply nylon webbing. This will likely not be constrictive on your dog’s neck, but we do wish that it had a handle on the back.

Comfort Metric Comfort Fit Padded Harness
Comfort Metric Comfort Fit Padded Harness
$0
on amazon
2/10
  • What we Like
  • All-in-one construction
  • Handle on back
  • Sits low on dog’s chest/neck
  • Specifically designed for smaller dogs up to 15 lbs
  • 1 adjustment point
  • Padded interior with extra cushioning
  • What we Dislike
  • Edges of leg holes may chafe if not the right dimensions.
  • Not suitable for French Bulldog
  • Velcro straps are weak
Product Details
HARNESS TYPE Back clip
MATERIAL Neoprene
nylon webbing
plastic
metal
LEASH ATTACHMENT POINTS / LOCATION 2 D-rings on back
SIZE (CHEST GIRTH) XX-small (9-11”)
X-small (12-14”)
small (15-17”)
medium (18-21”)
COLOR CHOICES 7
Our Review

This is a good harness for very small dogs with wider legs up to 15 pounds weight. We don’t think this is suitable for a French bulldog because it is not adjustable enough and is clearly designed for a different build of dog. We have concerns about the safety because the attachment point on this furnace is can price to two straps that narrative fixed very securely to the harness. while it may be more difficult for small dog wiggle out of this harness we don’t feel that it would be safe for dog that pulls or jerks on the leash.

Gooby Choke Free Comfort X Soft Dog Harness
Gooby Choke Free Comfort X Soft Dog Harness
$27
on amazon
3/10
  • What we Like
  • Low profile
  • Allows for wide range of motion
  • Sits low on dog’s chest/neck
  • Microsuede trimming
  • 2 adjustment points
  • Breathable mesh
  • Single-ply nylon webbing construction
  • What we Dislike
  • Not a safe harness for a dog that pulls
  • Chest/neck opening is not adjustable and sizing may prove difficult
  • Harness goes on over dog’s head
Product Details
HARNESS TYPE Single clip
MATERIAL Mesh
nylon webbing
plastic
metal
LEASH ATTACHMENT POINTS / LOCATION 1 D-ring on back
SIZE (CHEST GIRTH) small (9-13”)
medium (11-16”)
large (14-19”)
X-large (17-26”)
COLOR CHOICES 6
Our Review

We appreciate the low-profile of this harness however, it struggles with multiple design flaws. It is not securely stitched the D-ring on the back is not firmly anchored and with a few good solid tugs could completely pull apart the entire harness. because we want our French bully to be comfortable we are picky about where the bulky plastic buckles are and on this harness the buckle rests squarely behind the dog’s front legs, digging into the armpit.

PUPTECK Soft Mesh No Pull Harness
PUPTECK Soft Mesh No Pull Harness
$0
on amazon
1/10
  • What we Like
  • Low profile
  • Allows for wide range of motion
  • Sits low on dog’s chest/neck
  • Microsuede trimming
  • 2 adjustment points
  • Breathable mesh
  • Single-ply nylon webbing construction
  • What we Dislike
  • Not a safe harness for a dog that pulls
  • Chest/neck opening is not adjustable and sizing may prove difficult
  • Harness goes on over dog’s head
Product Details
HARNESS TYPE Single clip
MATERIAL Mesh
nylon webbing
plastic
metal
LEASH ATTACHMENT POINTS / LOCATION 1 D-ring on back
SIZE (CHEST GIRTH) small (9-13”)
medium (11-16”)
large (14-19”)
X-large (17-26”)
COLOR CHOICES 6
Our Review

We appreciate the low-profile of this harness however, it struggles with multiple design flaws. It is not securely stitched the D-ring on the back is not firmly anchored and with a few good solid tugs could completely pull apart the entire harness. because we want our French bully to be comfortable we are picky about where the bulky plastic buckles are and on this harness the buckle rests squarely behind the dog’s front legs, digging into the armpit.

Best Harness for French Bulldogs
Product Name Best for Rate
K9-Power Harness Julius Best Overall 10
GoPets No Pull Harness Best Budget 6
Puppia Authentic RiteFit Harness with Adjustable Neck Best Soft Harness 6

How to Choose A French Bulldog Harness

Consider where your dog is in his training and his temperament well as any health concerns when reviewing the various kinds of harnesses for your French bulldog. We do not recommend corrective harnesses such as tightening or muzzle harnesses because they are not suited for your dog’s build or respiratory concerns, so we have not included them in our reviews.

Harnesses vary in their construction and durability. Two-ply harnesses are usually two or more layers of fabric, leather, or nylon. These will be more durable and last longer than single-ply harnesses which are typically a single layer of nylon webbing with plastic clasps. This was why our top pick was the Julius K-9 Power Harness, as it is manufactured with the highest tactical fray-resistant grade nylon.

Harness Categories

Front-clip harnesses. Leash attachment point will typically be a metal or plastic loop attached to the collar at the base of the neck, chest, or throat. They are considered “no pull” because when the dog pulls on the leash, it will cause them to turn to the side. These are generally not suitable for French bulldogs because of the compression on the neck and trachea.

Dual clip harnesses. These will typically have a leash attachment point on the chest/neck area similar to the back-clip harnesses but also an attachment point on the back, behind the dog’s neck. Many of these we reviewed had a plastic or composite clip on the front and the only metal/heavily reinforced clip was on the back.

Back-clip harnesses. Leash attachment point on the back only. These will often also have a handle you can use to quickly restrain your dog. These are the best harnesses in our opinion. This style of harness will distribute pressure evenly across the body, will not constrict breathing, is easy to put (and keep!) on your bulldog, and often will have a convenient handle on the back in the event that you need to lift your dog or quickly restrain him.

Finding the Right Fit

We recommend finding a harness that is highly adjustable in order to get the best fit. Measure your own dog and use these actual measurements in addition to manufacturer guidelines for a good fit. Do not go by weight. French Bulldogs may be small, but they have stocky bodies–which means some of their proportions match larger dogs.

The harness should be nonrestrictive of normal motion such as walking, eating, drinking, or squatting. Feel around the entire surface of the harness where it comes in contact with your dog’s body to ensure it is snug but not chafing or too tight. Look for and avoid raw, unfinished edges that will lay flat against the dog. Pay particular attention to parts of the harness such as buckles that wind up behind leg joints as this can make your dog extremely uncomfortable and lead to problems.